Wednesday, October 07, 2009

South Korean info

National Flag

The National Flag of Korea is called Taegukki, the meaning of which has originated from the old oriental philosophy called the theory of Um-Yang. Chinese pronounce it as Yin-Yang. The National flag was designed by Bak Yeong-hyo, who was the Korean ambassador to Japan. On 6 March, 1883 King Gojong declared the Taegeukki the official National flag of Korea.

The National flag consist of three parts which includes a white background with a red and blue taegeuk in the center and four black trigrams, placed in each corner of the flag. The design of the National flag symbolizes the principles of the yin and yang derived from Chinese philosophy. The flag is the leading National symbol of South Korea.

National Anthem

The national anthem of South Korea is titled ‘Aegukga' which means “The Song of Love for the Country”. The music of the National anthem was composed by Ahn Eaktay and the lyrics were either penned by Yun Chiho or An Chang-Ho.

Three years subsequent to the end of Japanese occupation, in 1948 "Aegukga" was officially adopted by that government as the National anthem of Korea. The anthem consist of four verses (with chorus), although only the first verse and chorus are generally sung. The anthem is an important national symbol of South Korea.

Coat of Arms

Hibiscus syriacus is the national flower of South Korea. The flower appears in national emblems, and Korea is compared poetically to the flower in the South Korean national anthem.[2] The flower's name in Korean is mugunghwa (Hangul: 무궁화; Hanja: 無窮花). The flower's symbolic significance stems from the Korean word mugung, meaning "immortality".

No comments:

The Flirtation Experiment-book review and giveaway

About the authors:  Lisa Jacobson  is an author, a podcaster, and the founder of, an online community of Christian women aut...